Killruddery is a living, working House, Gardens and Farm. It has been home to sixteen generations of the Brabazon family and over the centuries many other families have joined this special place as a home and in employment.
The 3rd and 6th Earls of Meath were mainly responsible for the creation of the gardens. The unique formal layout was concieved by the French gardener named Bonet in 1682. Bonet, who was a Huguenot, had been a gardener to Sir William Petty and was a disciple of the great landscape designer André le NÃ´tre, famous for the gardens of the Palace of Versailles near Paris.
Notable features to explore include the Angles (find out why they are affectionately known as goose feet), the Long Ponds, the Wilderness, the Sylvan Theatre, Lime Walks and the Beech Hedge Pond.
First built around 1830, records show that up until the 1950s, the walled Garden was a thriving oasis of nature. In 2011 the Walled Garden Project was launched as a restoration and rejuvenation initiative. It comprises four acres of space contained within tall red brick walls accessed from the formal gardens through an impressive restored ornamental gate.
Today, the produce that is grown in the Walled Garden supplies the Tearooms with vegetables, salads, herbs and fruits as per the Seasons from April to October.
One of the most eye catching parts of Killruddery House, The Orangery was designed and built by William Burns in 1852 and was inspired by daring style of the Crystal Palace, London. Legend has it that the family tiara was sold to finance this work and that the crennellations surrounding the dome were based on the design of this tiara.
There is a Farm Market in the Horseyard on Saturdays, free parking, free entry. Kilruddery also has a programme of events that include garden talks and gardening events. See their website for details.